CleanEatingMama

From dirty to clean, adventures of a clean eating mom.

Just Try It – Tofu Scramble August 16, 2011

Filed under: Just Try It,Recipes,Vegan Recipes — cleaneatingmama @ 8:26 pm

Tofu is one of the things I am trying to incorporate into my diet. Tofu is one of those things that I am just really unsure about. I have researched tofu recipes and came across a recipe for tofu scramble. This is similar to scrambled eggs.

We made it a couple of mornings ago and it turned out pretty good. Bryan ate it for breakfast and lunch, and Owen (18-month old) loved it!

Here is the recipe I made.

What you need:

1 TBSP olive oil

1/2 small onion finely chopped

1 block of organic firm tofu (the kind you find in the refrigerated section, not silken)

2 cloves garlic finely chopped

1/2 cup black beans (rinsed and drained)

1 TBSP nutritional yeast (I get this in the bulk aisle of my local health food store, theoretically you could leave this out, click here to learn more)

1 TBSP onion powder

1 tsp salt

2 tsp turmeric (optional…but recommended…adds color and flavor)

1 cup of chopped fresh spinach

1 TBSP soy sauce

In a large skillet heat the olive oil, add the onions and cook until softened. While the onion is cooking cut the tofu into large cubes. When the onions are soft, add the garlic and cook for 1 minute, break the tofu cubes into smaller pieces into the skillet. Do not completely crumble as it will break up more when cooking and stirring. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring as if you were cooking eggs. Then, add the nutritional yeast, spices, and soy sauce, stir to combine. Add the spinach and black beans and cook until the spinach wilts and the beans are warmed through.

You can serve with toast and fruit, or on a tortilla with some salsa. There are lots of variations of this dish out there, so look around and see if you find one that is more interesting to you.

So what was my verdict on the dish? I liked it, it was very much the consistency of a soft curd scrambled egg. On the other hand,  I like really firm eggs, so I think next time I make it I will try it with extra firm tofu. I will update the recipe if that version turns out better.

Scrambled tofu…just try it! Let me know what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

